22nd Annual MusicRow Awards

MusicRow is proud to announce its nominees for the 22nd Annual MusicRow Awards. Ballots for the reader-voted categories will be emailed to subscribers May 19. The deadline for voting is May 24th. The winners, along with the Top Ten Album All Star Musicians will be announced at our awards ceremony on June 24. (The eligibility period was from May 1, 2009 through April 30, 2010.)

Breakthrough Artist of the Year

To honor an artist who achieved significant career progress for the first time.

1. Gloriana (Warner Bros. Nashville)
2. Randy Houser (Show Dog-Universal)
3. Justin Moore (Valory Music Co.)
4. Chris Young (Sony Music Entertainment—RCA)
5. Zac Brown Band (Atlantic)

Producer of the Year

To honor a producer’s work on albums active during the awards time period. Can include, but is not limited to single chart performance and album sales.

1. Mark Bright (Carrie Underwood, Danny Gokey, Emily West)
2. Dann Huff (Keith Urban, Rascal Flatts, Martina McBride, Steel Magnolia)
3. Frank Liddell/Mike Wrucke (Miranda Lambert, David Nail)
4. Keith Stegall (Alan Jackson, Zac Brown Band, Clay Walker)
5. Paul Worley (Lady Antebellum, James Otto)

Song of the Year

To honor Writers and Publishers on the Craft of Songwriting, not necessarily Chart Positions (song, artist, writer, publishers)

1. “Need You Now”—Lady Antebellum; writers Dave Haywood, Josh Kear, Charles Kelley, Hillary Scott; publishers EMI Foray Music, Darth Buddha, Dwhaywood Music, Hillary Dawn Publishing, Radiobullets Publishing, Warner-Tamerlane Publishing Corp., Year Of The Dog Music

2. “Welcome To The Future”—Brad Paisley; writers Chris DuBois, Brad Paisley, publisher SeaGayle

3. “The Climb”—Miley Cyrus; writers Jessi Alexander, Jon Mabe; publishers Disney Music Publishing, Hopeless Rose Music, Mabe It Big Music, Stage Three Music

4. “The House That Built Me”—Miranda Lambert; writers Tom Douglas, Allen Shamblin; publishers Sony/ATV, Tomdouglasmusic, Built On Rock Music, Evergreen, ICG Alliance Music

5. “A Little More Country Than That”—Easton Corbin; writers Wynn Varble, Rory Lee Feek, Don Poythress; publishers S1 Songs and Universal Music Publishing, Warner/Chappell, Don Poythress Songs, FSMGI, A Sling And A Prayer Music, State One Music America, Warner Tamerlane Publishing, Precious Flour Music

Breakthrough Songwriter of the Year

To honor a Nashville songwriter who for the first time wrote or co-wrote a Top 10 song.

Canaan Smith—“Runaway” by Love & Theft
Chart info: broke top 10 on 10/24/09 (spent 35 weeks on the charts); writers Canaan Smith, Rob Blackledge, Stephen Barker Liles; Lyric Street Records

Jessi Alexander—“The Climb” by Miley Cyrus
Chart info: broke top 10 on 05/23/09 (spent 15 weeks @#1 and 51 weeks total on the charts); writers Jessi Alexander, Jon Mabe; Walt Disney Records

Kevin Denney—“Bonfire” by Craig Morgan
Chart info: broke top 10 on 11/21/09 (spent 31 weeks on the charts); writers Kevin Denney, Tom Botkin, Mike Rogers, Craig Morgan; BNA

Patrick Davis—“Where I’m From” by Jason Michael Carroll
chart info: broke top 10 on 6/6/09; writers Patrick Davis, Joe Leathers; Arista

Chris Young—“Gettin’ You Home (The Black Dress Song)” by Chris Young
chart info: hit No. 1 on 9/19/09; writers Cory Batten, Kent Blazy, Chris Young; RCA

Troy Olsen—“I’ll Just Hold On” by Blake Shelton
chart info: broke Top 10 8/3/09; writers Troy Olsen, Ben Hayslip, Brian Simpson; Warner Bros.


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Awards, Featured

About the Author

View Author Profile